Delores Barr Weaver Policy Center Announces Recipients of the Inaugural   “See the Girl Awards”


JACKSONVILLE, FL October 18, 2017 –The Delores Barr Weaver Policy Center announced today the recipients of their inaugural See the Girl Awards. “These deserving recipients from across the country have championed the rights of girls and young women impacted by the justice system. So much of their important work is done quietly behind the scenes and we think it’s important to elevate the significant contributions they’ve made on behalf of justice-involved girls,” said Dr. Lawanda Ravoira, president and CEO of the Policy Center.

Through in-depth research, training, direct service and advocacy, the Policy Center aims to shift the community’s response to young women and girls impacted by the justice system from one that is punitive towards one that considers a girl’s lived experiences, sees her strength and resilience and focuses on co-creating a productive future with her. “See the Girl’ comes from the idea that when as a community we see a girl for who she can become, and not just the moment she made a youthful mistake, we can help her to reach her full potential,” said Ravoira.

The Delores Barr Weaver See the Girl Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to Dr. Barbara Guthrie, Associate Dean of Education and Professor of Nursing at Northeastern University. The See the Girl Advocacy Award recipient is community leader Joan Amery Van Vleck. Elizabeth Eagle and Elizabeth Titone, founders of e2 education and environment accepted the See the Girl Direct Service Award for their “This Is Ours” program. Fourteen-year-old Deyona Burton is the See the Girl Leadership Award recipient. Senator Aaron Bean and Representative Ross Spano were selected in their respective chambers for the See the Girl Legislator of the Year Award. The Joan Amery Van Vleck Research Award was awarded to Rebecca Epstein, Executive Director of the Georgetown Center on Poverty and Inequality. The award recipients were honored at a private dinner on October 18th.





40 East Adams, Suite 130
Jacksonville, FL 32202